Buttermilk Waffles: Breakfast for Dinner

I have always been a big fan of breakfast for dinner, and recently, my mom gave me her old waffle iron.  At that moment, this meal was destined to be.  I had some fun with the photography for this one, I had never noticed how lovely eggshells could look.

I had some trouble with the first few waffles sticking to the waffle iron because I had never used it before and didn’t know just how much butter I needed to use to grease the plates.  You can see in some photos where some of the waffle got ripped off from being stuck.  My advice: use LOTS of butter to prevent such sticking.

I found this recipe at The Secret Life of a Chef’s Wife.  They called them crispy, but mine didn’t get crispy at all.  I don’t know if they cooked them longer or if it was my waffle iron or what, but they didn’t turn out how I expected.  BUT that does not mean they weren’t yummy and that I won’t make them again!  I will absolutely make them again.

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs (separated)
  • 2 cups buttermilk*
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp bak­ing powder
  • 1 tsp bak­ing soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter for greasing waffle iron.

Directions:

  1. Place the egg yolks in a large mix­ing bowl.
  2. Whisk the dry ingre­di­ents (flour, bak­ing pow­der, bak­ing soda, and salt) together in a large bowl. Set aside.
  3. Add the buttermilk to the yolks and beat well.
  4. Add the dry ingre­di­ents and mix until smooth. Don’t over mix.
  5. Place the whites in bowl of a mixer fit­ted with the whisk attach­ment. Beat egg whites until soft peaks form.
  6. Fold the beaten egg whites care­fully into the bat­ter until just incorporated.
  7. Bake in hot waf­fle iron until steam­ing stops.
  8. Top with your favorite syrup.
  9. Serve with your favorite breakfast side dishes.  I chose bacon!
6 thoughts on “Buttermilk Waffles: Breakfast for Dinner

  1. Did you leave out the melted butter in the original recipe from the batter on purpose? Could that be why yours weren’t crispy?
    I’m about to make these!

      • Mine turned out pretty yummy…I put the 1/2 cup of melted butter into the batter and cooked them for about 4 minutes each.
        My buttermilk was about to go bad so i had to make them late last night…we’ll see how they are re-heated in the toaster!

      • I fed them to 3 kids this morning and they all loved them! (they were crispy after bring re-heated in the toaster oven) Then again, I also added a few chocolate chips to each so that could also be why they loved them!

Leave a Reply

