Pasta with Sausage and Broccoli Rabe

I love pasta.  Maybe a little too much.  I could eat it every day. Maybe even every meal.  I found this recipe on A Full Measure of Happiness, tweaked it a little bit, and now have a new dish in my top five favorites.  It is so good, I wish I had more!!!!

Also, I discovered a new vegetable through this recipe-broccoli rabe!  I had seen it at the grocery store but didn’t know much about it.  I can now tell you that it is quite yummy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 big bunch broccoli rabe, trimmed of the tough ends and cut into two-inch pieces
  • 1/2 lb dry pasta (I used spaghetti)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1-2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 t dry oregano
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 4 hot Italian sausages
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 14-oz can diced or crushed tomatoes
  • Peccorino Romano to garnish

Directions:

  1. Cook the pasta according to package directions and set aside.
  2. Steam or boil the broccoli rabe for a few minutes until tender, drain, and set that aside, too.
  3. Over medium heat, sauté the garlic in the olive oil for a minute or two.
  4. Toss in the salt, oregano, red pepper flakes, and the sausage–either crumble it or cut it into slices, it’s all up to you.
  5. Add the diced tomatoes, juice and all, and give it a quick stir.
  6. Add the drained broccoli rabe.
  7. Stir in the cooked pasta.
  8. Top with cheese.
  9. DEVOUR
Leave a Reply

