Berry Cheesecake Hearts for Valentine’s Day

Sorry it has been so long since my last post- I have been super busy and sick so it has been a challenge to find the time and energy for anything.

This year for Valentine’s day I wanted to try something I had never done before.  I had never made cheesecake so when I found this recipe on Epicurean Mom I was so excited because not only was it a cheesecake recipe, it was perfect for the occasion!  I followed the recipe exactly, except that I didn’t have a 9×9 pan.  I used an 8×8 so mine came out a little taller than the original, but they tasted SO good.  I was very proud of myself, as I had expected cheesecake to be a huge challenge.  Though, I may have cheated a little bit with this recipe since I didn’t have to use a spring-form pan or anything.

I hope this post finds you happy, healthy, and abundantly loved!

Ingredients and how to:

For Raspberry Puree:
  • 9 ounces fresh raspberries, rinsed
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon juiced lemon
  1. Add all ingredients to a small saucepan over medium heat.  Cook down, stirring occasionally, until syrupy, about 10 minutes.  Let cool slightly and pour mixture through a sieve.  Set aside.
For Graham Cracker Base:
  • 11 graham cracker sheets
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 5 tablespoons butter, melted plus more for greasing
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Grease a 9 x 9 baking pan with butter.  Lay parchment paper over the top of the pan, leaving a slight overhang, repeat with other side.
  3. Crumble graham crackers in a bowl of a food processor, pulse until mealy.
  4. Add the remaining ingredients, pulse until well combined.
  5. Pour the graham cracker mixture into the lined baking dish.  Evenly and firmly pat down with the bottom of a glass.
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until just set.  Set aside.
  7. Leave oven on for cheesecake hearts!!
For Filling:
  •  16 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • raspberry puree
  • 1 cup fresh blackberries, rinsed
  1. Combine all ingredients in the bowl of food processor, process until well combined.  Consistency should be very smooth.
  2. Pour into prepared graham cracker crust.
  3. Place blackberries onto filling and poke down until partially exposed or completely covered.
  4. Bake in already preheated oven for 35-45 minutes, until set and middle jiggles just slightly.
  5. Let cool for at least an hour at room temperature then cool in fridge for 3 hours.
  6. Using the parchment overhang, carefully remove cheesecake from pan and cut into bars or cut into cute shapes (hearts!!).

 

 

Leave a Reply

