Ginger Molasses Men

For Christmas, my brother gave me all the items seen above: Ginger Molasses Cookie Mix, a gingerbread man cookie cutter, and christmas baking spatulas.  It was clear what this gift was for.  I was to make gingerbread men!  He loves ginger cookies so I made them on Christmas day when I would still be home at my mom’s house (hence why this kitchen may look different than where I usually cook) with him. This was a very easy mix which only required the addition of some unsalted butter and one egg.

So I set to work right after cleaning my new tools and getting the “factory” off of them- you never know what weird stuff might be on new items!  You can also see another of my new tools in the top right of the photo above- my new mixer (which I mentioned in my last post)!! After mixing the egg, butter, and mixture together as the box instructed, the dough had to refrigerate for a half hour while I relaxed and watched Bridesmaids with my family (if you haven’t seen it you need to).

In this photo you can see one of the really neat things about this mix- it contains actual pieces of crystallized ginger which I thought added a nice touch.  After a half hour of chilling out, I set to cutting out little gingerbread men.  Funnily enough, these things really expand when they are in the oven, and we ended up having Gingerbread Sumo Men instead of regular ones! HAHA!

But regardless of their silly size they were absolutely yummy, and I usually don’t even like gingerbread so I think that says a lot.  I would highly recommend this mix which is available at your local Williams Sonoma, and likely other places I don’t know of.

Leave a Reply

