Christmas Sugar Cookies

Okay, it has been WAY too long since my last post and I’m sorry!  But this post should be worth the wait!

I don’t know if I have said this yet, but I get my love for baking from my mom.  My whole life my siblings and I have been spoiled with delicious home made treats and as a kid I loved to help her and as I got older learned from her and became the baker and cook I am today.

My mom is a great baker, and an even better mom!  I told her I was feeling like making Christmas sugar cookies, so of course she mailed me a box of cookie cutters so I wouldn’t have to go buy some.

 

 

 

Now, before this , I never even actually really liked sugar cookies and mostly wanted to make them for the nostalgia- my siblings and I used to always make and decorate them at the holidays.  I also was feeling very much in the Christmas spirit, I even pulled out my holiday oven mitts, which I never got around to doing last year.

I got even more excited when I found this recipe at Fork vs. Spoon because they actually sounded yummy to me- a first with sugar cookies.  So, I got to work, and with two days off from my real work, I was able to really take time with these, and the result was DELICIOUS.  I actually like sugar cookies now…well at least these ones!  The next day I brought about half of them to work and they all got eaten that same day-that’s how good they are.

Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies (recipe makes about 2 dozen)

Ingredients (for cookies)

    • 1 Cup Butter ( 2 sticks), room temperature
    • 3 Ounces Cream Cheese, room temperature (they make cute little blocks in the 3 ounce size, amazing)
    • 1 Cup White Sugar
    • 1 egg yolk
    • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
    • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
    • 2 + 1/4 Cup Flour

Icing Ingredients  (makes about 2 cups)

  • 1 Stick Butter, softened
  • 4 Cups Confectioner’s Sugar
  • 5 Tablespoons Milk
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
Directions
  1. In a large mixing bowl, cream together  butter and cream cheese.
  2. Add sugar and continue to cream until light and fluffy.
  3. Beat in egg yolk, vanilla extract, and salt.  Beat until well mixed.
  4. With mixer on low, slowly add flour and mix until flour is completely incorporated – scrape down the sides of the bowl and bottom of the bowl half way through mixing so everything gets incorporated.
  5. Cover with aluminum foil/plastic wrap and place in refrigerator for at least 8 hour or overnight.

After the dough has chilled for at least 8 hours:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°.
  2. On a lightly floured surface, roll the cookie dough out to about 1/8 to 1/4 inch and with cookie cutters, cut out shapes to your desire
  3. Place cut outs onto ungreased/parchment paper lined cookie sheet.  Bake for about 8 to 10 minutes, just until the bottoms begin to brown.
  4. Remove from oven and let cool on cookie sheet for about 3 to 5 minutes before transferring to wire rack.
  5. Once completly cool you can ice them if you like, but they are also good plain! BUT DO NOT ice until they are completely cool, or your icing will melt.
For icing:
  1. In a medium bowl, cream butter.
  2. Slowly add confectioner’s sugar and beat until combined.
  3. With mixer still on low, add milk 1 tablespoon at a time and then add vanilla.
  4. Increase mixer spead and beat until desired consistency is met, the more it is whipped the more airy it will be.
  5. Divide icing into bowls and add food coloring.
  6. Ice cookies.
  7. Allow icing to dry completely and then place in an air-tight container to keep them fresh.

I made…

Brown Sugar Rudolphs

Stockings

 

Trees

 

Stars

And Snowmen!!

 

 

They were cute and delicious. Happy Holidays Everyone!

My little tree

Leave a Reply

