An Easy Night: Dinner

This is an easy chicken I make relatively frequently.  You can pair a number of sides with it depending on what you’re in the mood for, tonight we had broccoli and Near East’s Wild Mushroom Pilaf (hence it being an easy dinner!).  It is helpful to thaw your chicken ahead of time, I usually take it out of the freezer in the morning.  I don’t use distinct measurements though, you kind of just have to guestimate how much of each you want.  I use a loaf pan, because it is the perfect size to make two servings.  Place the chicken in the pan, then add a bit of olive oil and red wine, and then fill with chicken broth so that there is liquid up to the top of the chicken breasts.  I then add a few cloves of garlic and some onions around the breasts and top with salt and pepper.  Cook for about twenty-five minutes at 350, turning over once in between.  The result is a very tender, juicy, and flavorful roasted chicken.

Near East is probably the best rice mix company on the market.  They have a variety of flavors without all of the chemicals you find in most rice mixes.  When I last went grocery shopping I picked this up because I knew I was going to have a busy week and wanted some easy options.  I would have liked to add some fresh veggies to it, but sadly all I had was the broccoli and I chose to make that separately.  The rice is still very yummy though!

I tend not to steam my vegetables, but saute them, except in the case of broccoli.  However, I don’t do a traditional steam.  I chop up a head of broccoli and put it into the smallest sauce pan I have.  Then I pour in chicken broth, wine, olive oil, salt and pepper so that the broccoli is only about 1/4th in liquid with the rest exposed to the air.  This creates a steam environment that is much more flavorful than just a water steam.  You have to be sure to stir/turn your broccoli frequently   though in order to get an even cook.

So there’s a delicious, light, easy, and healthy dinner for you to try out!

 

Leave a Reply

